top of page

Takeshi Nagayasu

Age 25, Japan

Takeshi Nagayasu, from Japan, is a 25-year-old pianist currently pursuing a doctorate degree in piano performance at University of Michigan with Logan Skelton. He previously earned a Master’s degree from Yale School of Music and a Bachelor’s degree from the Juilliard School of Music. His former teachers include Vladimir Feltsman, Melvin Chen, Boris Berman, Joseph Kalichstein, Matti Raekallio, Antonio Pompa-Baldi, and Xiaohe Xie.


Prizes he has won include Jacob Flier Competition during the Pianosummer at New Paltz, MTNA Competition in Michigan, and the Kosciuszko Foundation Chopin Competition. He is also a recipient of scholarship from Feltsman Piano Foundation in 2021 and Evelyn Bonar Storrs Scholarship from the Musical Club of Hartford in 2023.




Preliminary Round:


  • Frédéric Chopin: Nocturne in B Major, Op. 62, No. 1

  • Frédéric Chopin: Étude in C Major, Op. 10, No. 7

  • Frédéric Chopin: Étude in A Minor, Op. 25, No. 11

  • Carl Czerny: Variations on a Theme by Rode, Op. 33


Live Quarterfinal Round:


  • Frédéric Chopin: Andante Spianato and Grande Polonaise Brillante, Op. 22

  • Frédéric Chopin: Étude in E-flat Major, Op. 10, No. 11

  • Frédéric Chopin: Mazurka in C Major, Op. 24, No. 2

  • Béla Bartók: Piano Sonata, BB 88, Sz. 80


Live Semifinal Round:


  • Frédéric Chopin: Waltz in A-flat Major, Op. 34, No. 1

  • Nicolas Namoradze: Étude 1: Major Scales

  • Sergei Prokofiev: Étude in C Minor, Op. 2, No. 3

  • Frédéric Chopin: 24 Preludes, Op. 28


Live Final Round:


  • Frédéric Chopin: Concerto No. 1 in E minor, Op. 11

Takeshi Nagayasu
bottom of page